Fort Myers Auto Accident Attorney Discusses Underage Drinking
In Florida, if you are under the age of 21, and you drink before you drive, you could lose your driver’s license. A state law passed in 1997, sets a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Under the law, individuals under the legal drinking age whose blood alcohol level is between .02 and .08 percent can face an administrative suspension of their driving privilege, a fine of up to $500, and up to six months in jail.
“If you are found guilty of Underage Possession of Alcohol, the court is required to revoke your driving privileges for six months, and the judge has the authority to extend the revocation for up to a year. And, repeat offenders beware, if you are convicted of this crime a second time, the mandatory revocation period is two years.”
The law was enacted because of the number of young lives lost each year in automobile accidents. Car crashes are the number one killer of teenagers in the United States. When the fatalities are alcohol related the problem is often compounded because teenagers who drink and drive tend to have friends with them.
While many states have some exceptions to the underage drinking rule, Florida is one of 10 states that have NO EXCEPTIONS. The law is so strict that simple possession of alcohol by a minor violates the law. You don’t have to drink to be arrested – you just have to be in possession of alcohol.